31.3 C
Thursday, May 23, 2024

Finance Committee: Approved 30 electric and 5 hybrid vehicles for officials

Must read

Επιτροπor Οικ 30 ;ιυβριδικματααξιματοχ&omega ?&nu?

A fund for the partial renewal of the fleet of official vehicles was approved by the Finance Committee of the Parliament on Monday, amounting to €1.66 million. Of the 60 official vehicles, 35 will be replaced, with 25 electric saloons, 5 electric SUVs and 5 plug-in hybrids .

A representative of the Electromechanical Service said that by a decision of the Council of Ministers, purely electric vehicles are being procured, after the cancellation of a previous tender, with which only hybrids would be purchased. He noted that in addition to the switch to electric vehicles, the choice of smaller category vehicles was also decided. He also stated that based on the requirements of the legislation for the quota of vehicles procured by the Republic of Cyprus, one out of three vehicles it purchases must be “

Asked by DISY MP, Onoufrios Koulas about the purchase and maintenance costs, he said that electric saloons cost €48,730 each, with maintenance costs for the first five years of €1,500. The cost of electric SUVs amounts to €44,000. A charger is also included in the purchase price.

In response to a question from DISY MP, Haris Georgiadis about who the vehicles are for, he said that 35 official vehicles from 2006 to 2015, which have high maintenance costs. Since Ministers are using 2020 build vehicles, he said the practice is for Ministers to get the new vehicles and theirs to be given to other officials.

Asked if there was interest in participating in the tender, he replied that three companies that met the specifications were interested and the award was made based on the lowest price criterion. He said the 25 electric saloons are the VW ID7 model and the 5 SUVs the Toyota bZ4X. For the hybrids, the tender is still pending.

With the renewal of the fleet, manufacturing vehicles will remain in operation from 2018 onwards, he noted.

Questioned by AKEL MP, Christos Regarding which officials are entitled to a vehicle, he said that for exclusive use the President of the Republic, the Speaker of the Parliament, the Ministers, the Attorney General, the Assistant Attorney General, the President of the Supreme Court, the Auditor General, the First Lady, the Former Presidents of the Republic and Parliament, as well as the head of the KYP and the National Guard. In addition, General Managers and Commissioners are entitled to non-exclusive vehicle use, noting that it is at the discretion of the executive to decide.


Source: 24h.com.cy

- Advertisement -AliExpress WW

More articles

- Advertisement -AliExpress WW

Latest article