21.1 C
Wednesday, May 22, 2024

The “curse” of 2nd place

Must read

 Η «κατàρα» τη&sigma ; 2ησθσ Nine years ago, at the end of the 2014-15 season, AEK moved up to 2nd place in the league table, for the first time since the merger of EPA and Pezoporikos in 1994. Previously, Pezoporikos was runner-up a total of eight times (the last time in 1982) and the EPA five times (the last time in 1972). In May 2015, therefore, AEK climbed for the first time in its 21-year history to the second step of the Cypriot league and was considered the greatest success (ever for the league) for the unified union of Larnaca. Until then the highest position he achieved was 4th. Four more years (total of five) followed when AEK took second place in the standings, in the periods 2015-16, 2016-17, 2018-19 and 2021-22. It is also indicative that in four of the total of five periods in which it was named runner-up, the championship was won by APOEL, the team it will face again in the

Specifically, in the 2014-15 season APOEL collected 62 points and AEK 59, in the 2015-16 season APOEL collected 83 points and AEK 75, while in the 2016-17 season the Nicosia team collected 80 points and the Larnaca team 76. The same scenario between APOEL – AEK unfolded in the 2018-19 season as well, with the blue-yellows collecting 70 points and the yellow-greens 62. The only time AEK was ranked second in the standings without APOEL being champions was in the 2021 season -22, when Apollon was the first to break the deadlock with 58 points, against AEK's 54.

Next Saturday (11/5) AEK is invited to break… the “curse” of second place, to win APOEL in its hot seat (Ran Ben Simon's group proved this year that it “doesn't chew” from hot seats), to achieve the absolute number of victories away from home in the playoffs (5×3) and for the first time, since the of unification, the championship in Larnaca. And for those who like historical facts, only APOEL, from 1976 to 1985, i.e. in a period of 10 competitive seasons, was ranked second a total of six times. If AEK does not succeed on May 11, then it will tie the “record” held by APOEL to this day, i.e. six times runner-up in a decade…

Source: gipedo.politis.com.cy

- Advertisement -AliExpress WW

More articles

- Advertisement -AliExpress WW

Latest article